Information on the new SARON® benchmark interest rate

LIBOR (the London Interbank Offered Rate) will be discontinued at the end of 2021. For Swiss francs, LIBOR will be replaced by SARON® (the Swiss Average Rate Overnight). SARON® will be calculated and published daily by SIX Swiss Exchange based on transactions actually executed and prices in the Swiss money market. Please find below more information on the new SARON®.

A brief explanation of SARON®

In 2009 the Swiss National Bank (SNB) and SIX Swiss Exchange jointly developed CHF benchmark interest rates for the financial markets. Unlike LIBOR, SARON® is based on actual transactions in the Swiss money market. Interest is calculated using the daily compounded rate (SARON® Compound). This means a change of paradigm in calculation: whereas with LIBOR the interest rate was known at the start of the period, SARON® is not known until the period has ended (lookback variant).

In the fourth quarter of 2021 Bank CIC will offer two new successor products to LIBOR mortgages as well as LIBOR loans (Rollover) using SARON® as the new benchmark interest rate. Existing clients with LIBOR mortgages will be contacted about the switch in the first quarter of 2021.

Frequently asked questions

Expand/collapse all
Why is LIBOR being discontinued?
What is the difference between LIBOR and SARON®?
How is SARON® calculated?
What happens at the end of the interest rate period with a money market mortgage?
What does the switch from LIBOR to SARON® mean for you?

Informations sur le nouveau taux d’intérêt de référence SARON®

Fin 2021, le LIBOR (London Interbank Offered Rate) va être remplacé. Pour le franc suisse, le SARON® (Swiss Average Rate Overnight) se substituera au LIBOR. La Bourse suisse SIX calculera et publiera le SARON® quotidiennement sur la base des transactions effectivement conclues ainsi que sur la base des cours négociés sur le marché monétaire suisse. Vous trouverez ci-après des informations sur le nouveau taux d’intérêt de référence SARON®.

Le SARON® en bref

En 2009, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a développé, en collaboration avec la SIX Swiss Exchange, des taux d’intérêt de référence en CHF pour les marchés financiers. Contrairement au LIBOR, le SARON® est calculé sur la base des transactions effectivement réalisées sur le marché monétaire suisse. La base de calcul du taux d’intérêt est le SARON® capitalisé au jour le jour (SARON® Compound). Cela implique toutefois un changement de paradigme lors du calcul : alors que, pour le LIBOR, le taux d’intérêt était connu au début de la période d’intérêt, pour le SARON®, il n’est connu qu’à la fin (variante « Look-back »)

Au 4e trimestre 2021, la Banque CIC proposera deux nouveaux produits qui succèderont à l’hypothèque LIBOR ainsi que pour le prêt Libor (Rollover) et qui auront le SARON® comme nouveau taux d’intérêt de référence. Les clients ayant d’ores et déjà des financements basés sur le LIBOR seront informés de ce changement au premier trimestre 2021.

Questions et réponses

Tout afficher/masquer
Pourquoi le LIBOR est-il remplacé ?
Quelle est la différence entre le LIBOR et le SARON® ?
Comment le SARON® est-il calculé ?
Qu’advient-il de l’hypothèque du marché monétaire à l’issue de la période d’intérêt ?
Que signifie le passage du LIBOR au SARON® pour vous ?